What is our purpose?

I had often wondered what is my purpose in life? I mean when I started out I had some idea what I wanted to be and where I wanted to go but as time progressed all of that changed in “Ephesians 2:10 states” For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” Sounds pretty clear cut doesn’t it? So why do I find myself at 60 still asking the question what was I born to do in this life? In Psalm 139:16 states “You saw me before I was born, Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.” And while I love this passage I still do not get it! I mean all that I have experienced and gone through was planned for me to do so? I can see why other’s would just tell you to Trust Jesus and let Him guide you to your purpose even if you have to go through bad stuff and good stuff I guess in a way it does shape who you will become in this life.

And when I really think deep about it I guess it is true for when I used to a poetry venue at Kijiji’s Coffee House on Jefferson St. years ago I never dreamed that it would prepare me in some way to speak on cervical cancer as a survivor and not be afraid to speak in public in fact I enjoy being on stage and thinking that I am helping people by telling my story of survival. I guess that we as human’s try too hard to control our life and where it will go when we really should ” Let go and let God” take the wheel.

Leave a Reply

